Jim Calhoun has been a great coach for a long time. Part of the reason he's been so good for so long is that he's an asshole. Ask any former basketball player. They will all agree with us. For that reason alone he should be one of our favorite people in the whole world. We love assholes, he's a mean old grump that obviously knows a lot about basketball. More than we do.
But it's time for him to think about ending his career. The team is full of blue chip recruits, and he doesn't know how to coach them. He's great at taking misfits (Khalid El Amin, Kevin Freeman, etc) and turning them into good college players. He molds them into his own designs. This new batch of players that are blue chippers, they cannot be molded in the same way. Calhoun knows this, but doesn't know how to coach them. It's a new era of softer players that can't handle assholes. He should turn over the team to some recruiter that can coddle the players.
Wednesday, December 31, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Dear Assholes,
ReplyDeleteAs a fellow asshole, I find it imperative that I respond to this thread. Having seen Calhoun in action recently, I will agree that he is a great coach and should be our favorite person in the world. I still feel though that he has many good years ahead of him. The players that he has recruited are babies and Calhoun has made it known that he is not into coddling. Getting rid of problems like Dyson, Miles and others has shown that he is still willing to do whatever it takes. He will not allow the players to run the team, he runs it and looks for leaders. We shouldnt be worried about what Calhoun does not do or how he yells at but how he is going to break down the zone defense. if he cannot coach anymore, than he should go but he still can..his players are the ones who need to respond.
BTW..LOVE THE BLOG! I will be sure to add some special reports to this in the future. FREE SPEECH IS THE WAY OF THE FUTURE! EVERYONE SHOULD GET ON BOARD! Please make sure all comments are seen!
Assholes unite!
Tank