Thursday, April 16, 2009

Feel the Rush (of my anger)

Oh My God! The fact that I saw this 2nd hand makes it hard for me to go too crazy with it.....but shit!

So apparently Rush Limbaugh was on his radio this week CRITICIZING the Obama Administration for the deaths of the 3 pirates off the Somali coast. That's right. I said he was criticizing them for that. And what was his justification for that? Obama authorized the Navy to shoot 3 young black men.


ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?!?!?!?!?!

I fully support people having the right of free speech. Where else in the world could I be such a huge jackass but in the United States? The right to free speech is not designed to protect the speech you love the most, but instead is to designed to protect that speech that most of us would hate the most. That much I get. What bothers me is that people, INTELLIGENT people, listen to Rush Limbaugh and say, "Yes he's right. I should think like him and believe what he believes."

So back to what Limbaugh said about the shooting of the pirates. Yes they were teenagers. Yes they were in a terrible position. But hello, THEY CAPTURED A SHIP CARRYING FOOD AID FOR AFRICA WITH AUTOMATIC WEAPONS, AND THEN HELD THE CAPTAIN HOSTAGE WITH THOSE SAME AUTOMATIC WEAPONS!!!!!!!!!! The situation in Somalia is terrible. It needs to be fixed right away. Boys should not be taking speed boats and weapons to the oceans. Those kids should have been in high school or college, or a vocational school, or working a job, anything but running about the high seas with guns. I believe in the rule of law. If there was a way to get the captain back from the boy-pirates without any killing, that should have been done. But if the captain of the naval vessel thought the hostage's life was at stake, he had no option but to shoot. This is standard protocol for most hostage situations (at least according to what I've seen in the movies!). To criticize the Obama Administration for the deaths of the 3 pirates and to try to paint the pirates as innocents is just plain TRAITOROUS. That's right, I said it.

Rush Limbaugh was one of the foremost proponents of the war in Iraq. He was one of the foremost supporters of holding people and torturing people in Guantanamo Bay. This is the man who supported the government SPYING on ITS OWN CITIZENS, A DIRECT VIOLATION OF THE CONSTITUTION THAT THIS COUNTRY WAS FOUNDED ON. Limbaugh vocally called the people who questioned these people as being unpatriotic and traitors. This man DOES NOT VALUE human life whatsoever, and now he cares about pirates? Give me a fucking break.

I wish the poor people who follow this man could take a step back and see the forest for the trees. He can say what he likes. It is very clear that he is doing everything he can to fight the Obama Administration. The Obama Administration has made plenty of mistakes thus far, but this is one thing that I don't think you can really fault them for. The Americans in the hostage situation got out alive. 3 young pirates died, which is very sad. But the country that they live, and the conditions that they live in brought them to the lives that they led. If we want to blame anyone for that, we need to blame the African Union, European Union, NATO, United Nations, and the Clinton/Bush Administrations that have done NOTHING with Somalia since the early 1990s. Don't blame Barack Obama for a situation that started before he was even involved in government.

FUCK YOU RUSH LIMBAUGH! PS Enjoy your right to freedom of speech! Obviously I am!

No comments:

Post a Comment