Thursday, April 16, 2009

If it's tea you want, go back to England!

Fox News celebrated Tax Day yesterday with Tea Parties all across the country. Absolutely fucking hysterical.*

*I watched Fox News for about 15 minutes last night. I got so fired up that I could hardly sleep. Then I was so busy at work today that I was unable to get up any of the posts that I wanted to....whenever I need a post I should just watch Fox News for a minute or two. But never again right before bed as it makes it too hard to sleep.

I strongly believe in the Constitution of the United States, that is definitely no secret. So these Tea Parties were a great way to exercise one's right to assemble. If people have a problem with something the government is doing, they should be able to gather in public spaces and protest.

Very few many stream media outlets covered the Tea Parties yesterday because they were strongly promoted by Fox News. They didn't want to give a competitor any free publicity. It was really kind of disgusting that a news agency would strongly promote supposedly "organic political protests". If CNN held an anti-Iraq war protest in Atlanta and DC they would be crucified by the New York Times for doing such a thing. No one dared mess with Fox News on this (except NBC, which did display some liberal bias). But at the same time, it was a major story the conservatives and mindless trolls gathered in public spaces across this country to complain about shit that they don't really understand. The other new outlets should have covered this story.

They used Tea Party since they were protesting taxation. But the thing was, the original Boston Tea Party was about taxation with no representation. Last time I checked, we had free and somewhat fair elections back in November (unless the Obamas were busting out some old school tricks and having dead people vote). So we just recently elected our representation. And those incoming political officers have been given a GIANT TURD to deal with. For years states and the federal government have been adding programs and increasing spending like drunken sailors, all while reducing taxes. How does that work? If I spent more money each month than the month before and made less money each month than the month before, eventually I'd be fucked! What it comes down to is people have been getting a free lunch for the past 10 years. If you want services, you have to have taxes. If you want good schools, you have to have taxes. If you want a decent military, you have to have taxes. If you don't want any of this shit, then you don't need as many taxes. I have no problem with complaining with a the belt tightening that will accompany the giant tax correction that we're all due to receive, but protesting that? GET BENT!

So my point with the people in the protests, YOU ARE FUCKING MORONS. I know that is mean. But the problem is that the new government in this country is trying to clean up the mess that was left by the Bush Administration and PREVIOUS Congresses (because you can't blame Bush for everything). So when all of the Democrats and Independents in this country said enough is enough and voted in a new government, you have to give that government some time to fix things. If things don't get fixed in the near future, then you vote in new people in 2010. Have your tea parties on Tax Day 2010. And really, if you're going to do anything it should have been a Coffee Party. We hate tea in this country, we've been coffee drinkers ever since that tea hit Boston Harbor 200+ years ago!

No comments:

Post a Comment